The purpose of the CONCUR conferences is to bring together researchers, developers, and students in order to advance the theory of concurrency, and promote its applications.

Invited speakers

  • Moshe Vardi - Rice University (USA)
  • Yuxin Deng - East China Normal University (China)
  • Rob van Glabbeek - Data61, CSIRO (Australia); Stanford University (USA); and University of New South Wales (Australia)
  • Bow-Yaw Wang - Academia Sinica (Taiwan)

Co-located conferences at CONFESTA

  • 16th International Conference on Formal Modelling and Analysis of Timed Systems (FORMATS 2018)
  • 15th International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems (QEST 2018)
  • 4th International Symposium on Dependable Software Engineering (SETTA 2018)
Co-located workshops and tutorials at CONFESTA
  • Big data meets formal methods (BOOM!)
  • Combined 25th International Workshop on Expressiveness in Concurrency and 15th Workshop on Structural Operational Semantics (EXPRESS/SOS 2018)
  • 3rd International workshop on TIming Performance engineering for Safety critical systems (TIPS 2018)
  • 7th IFIP WG 1.8 Workshop on Trends in Concurrency Theory (TRENDS 2018)
  • 8th Young Researchers Workshop on Concurrency Theory (YR-CONCUR 2018)
Other co-located events


All dates are AoE.

Abstract submission:
April 17, 2018
Paper submission:
April 23, 2018
June 7, 2018
Camera ready copy:
July 2, 2018
September 4-7, 2018

Submissions are solicited in semantics, logics, verification and analysis of concurrent systems. The principal topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Basic models of concurrency such as abstract machines, domain-theoretic models, game-theoretic models, process algebras, graph transformation systems, Petri nets, hybrid systems, mobile and collaborative systems, probabilistic systems, real-time systems, biology-inspired systems, and synchronous systems;
  • Logics for concurrency such as modal logics, probabilistic and stochastic logics, temporal logics, and resource logics;
  • Verification and analysis techniques for concurrent systems such as abstract interpretation, atomicity checking, model checking, race detection, pre-order and equivalence checking, run-time verification, state-space exploration, static analysis, synthesis, testing, theorem proving, type systems, and security analysis;
  • Distributed algorithms and data structures: design, analysis, complexity, correctness, fault tolerance, reliability, availability, consistency, self-organization, self-stabilization, protocols.
  • Theoretical foundations of architectures, execution environments, and software development for concurrent systems such as geo-replicated systems, communication networks, multiprocessor and multi-core architectures, shared and transactional memory, resource management and awareness, compilers and tools for concurrent programming, programming models such as component-based, object- and service-oriented.


CONCUR 2018 solicits high quality papers reporting research results and/or experience related to the topics mentioned below. All papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted for publication elsewhere.

Each paper will undergo a thorough review process. If necessary, the paper may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will be reviewed at the discretion of the program committee.

The CONCUR 2018 proceedings will be published by LIPIcs.

Papers must be submitted electronically as PDF files via EasyChair.

Papers must not exceed 14 pages (excluding references and clearly marked appendices) using the LIPIcs style.

Extended versions of selected papers will appear in a special issue of the Journal of Computer and System Sciences (JCSS).

General Chair
Huimin Lin (Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Program Co-chairs
Sven Schewe (University of Liverpool, UK)
Lijun Zhang (Institute of Software, CAS, China)

Publicity Co-chairs
Ernst Moritz Hahn (University of Liverpool, UK)
Meng Sun (Peking University, China)
Uppsala University (Sweden)
TU Dresden (Germany)
Graz University of Technology (Austria)
IRIF, University Paris Diderot (France)
York University (Canada)
Birkbeck, University of London (UK)
Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
Fondazione Bruno Kessler (Italy)
Universidad Nacional de Córdoba - CONICET (Argentina)
Université Laval (Canada)
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
RWTH Aachen University (Germany)
National Institute of Informatics (Japan)
Tsinghua University (China)
Reykjavík University (Iceland)
University of Oxford (UK)
IIT Bombay (India)
Masaryk University (Czech Republic)
Università degli studi di Salerno (Italy)
CNRS (France)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
MPI-SWS (Germany)
Aalborg University (Denmark)
TU Braunschweig (Germany)
University of Udine (Italy)
University of Colorado, Boulder (USA)
Sven Schewe (co-chair)
University of Liverpool (UK)
University College London (UK)
University of Salzburg (Austria)
University of Twente (The Netherlands)
Saarland University (Germany)
Lijun Zhang (co-chair)
Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI) (The Netherlands)
Universidad Nacional de Córdoba (Argentina)
Technische Universität München (Germany)
RWTH Aachen (Germany)
Aalborg University (Denmark)
Università di Pisa (Italy)
INRIA and LIX, École Polytechnique (France)