SETTA aims to bring together international researchers and practitioners in the field of software technology. Its focus is on formal methods and advanced software technologies, especially for engineering complex, large-scale artifacts like cyber-physical systems, networks of things, enterprise systems, or cloud-based services. Contributions relating to formal methods or integrating them with software engineering, as well as papers advancing scalability or widening the scope of rigorous methods to new design goals are especially welcome.

As part of CONFESTA, SETTA 2018 will be co-located with CONCUR, FORMATS and QUEST.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Requirements specification and analysis
  • Formalisms for modeling, design and implementation
  • Model checking, theorem proving, and decision procedures
  • Scalable approaches to formal system analysis
  • Formal approaches to simulation and testing
  • Integration of formal methods into software engineering practice
  • Contract-based engineering of components, systems, and systems of systems
  • Formal and engineering aspects of software evolution and maintenance
  • Parallel and multicore programming
  • Embedded, real-time, hybrid, and cyber-physical systems
  • Mixed-critical applications and systems
  • Formal aspects of service-oriented and cloud computing
  • Safety, reliability, robustness, and fault-tolerance
  • Dependability of smart software and systems
  • Empirical analysis techniques and integration with formal methods
  • Applications and industrial experience reports
  • Tool integration

Abstract deadline
April 23, 2018(AoE)(We'll keep accepting abstract submission until the paper deadline)
Submission deadline
May 7, 2018(AoE)(Extended)
Author notification
June 14, 2018(AoE)
Camera-ready version
June 28, 2018(AoE)
September 4-6, 2018

Moshe VARDI (Joint keynote speaker for CONFESTA 2018): Rice University, USA


Hongseok YANG: KAIST, Korea

General Chair

Chaochen ZHOU: Inst. of Software, CAS, China

PROGRAM Co-chairs

Xinyu FENG: Nanjing University, China

Markus MÜLLER-OLM: University of Münster, Germany

Zijiang YANG: Western Michigan University, USA


Farhad ARBAB: CWI Amsterdam, Netherlands

Sanjoy BARUAH: Washington University, USA

Lei BU: Nanjing University, China

Michael BUTLER: University of Southampton, UK

Yan CAI: Institute of Software, CAS, China

Taolue CHEN: Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Yuxin DENG : East China Normal University, China

Xinyu FENG: Nanjing University, China

Yuan FENG: University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Ernst Moritz HAHN: Institute of Software, CAS, China

Dan HAO: Peking University, China

Maritta HEISEL: University Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Raymond HU: Imperial College London, UK

He JIANG: Dalian Univerisyt of Technology, China

Yu JIANG: Tsinghua University, China

Einar Broch JOHNSEN: University of Oslo, Norway

Guoqiang LI: Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Ting LIU: Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Yang LIU: Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Tongping LIU: University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

Xiapu LUO: Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Stephan MERZ: INRIA Nancy and LORIA, France

Markus MÜLLER-OLM: University of Münster, Germany

Jun PANG: University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Davide SANGIORGI: University of Bologna, Italy

Oleg SOKOLSKY: University of Pennsylvania, USA

Fu SONG: ShanghaiTech University, China

Zhendong SU: University of California, Davis, USA

Jun SUN: Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore

Walid Mohamed TAHA: Halmstad University, Sweden

Sofiene TAHAR: Concordia University, Canada

Cong TIAN: Xidian Univeristy, China

Ji WANG: NUDT, China

Bow-Yaw WANG: Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Chao WANG: University of Southern California, USA

Heike WEHRHEIM: University of Paderborn, Germany

Xin XIA: Monash University, Australia

Shin YOO: KAIST, Korea

Zijiang YANG: Western Michigan University, USA